MySpace.com – a disease?

I was rather surprised to read this article from Onion.com which talks about MySpace.com outage for a couple of days.

Some interesting excerpts:

However, because the sudden lack of friends has deprived MySpace users of comments, bulletin posts, and searches for elementary school crushes, it is feared that the ordeal could inflict long-term psychological damage.

In Chicago alone, an estimated 50,000 people remain trapped in their apartments, with no way of contacting the outside world about new bands, Adult Swim cartoons, or the latest video games.

One person was quoted saying:

“Nothing can describe how devastated I feel. Some of these people I’ve exchanged two, even three comments with, and I can’t tell you how many ROTFLMAOs we’ve shared, too.”

Now, hold your breath:

“Without an ‘About Me’ section, I’ve lost all sense of self,” said Imbrescia, 17, who depends on the site to convey his innermost thoughts to millions of extended-network friends. “Do I want kids? How tall am I? What’s my body type? These are questions I can’t answer anymore. I’d pray to a god for help, but I’ve lost my religion field.”

This is the craziest one, sounding like a katrina post-relief operation: 🙂

A handful of relief organizations have begun to offer some assistance to MySpace refugees. The American Red Cross is currently setting up a network of approximately 60 smaller-sized “fill-in” sites, where lonely MySpace users can post abbreviated profiles and receive instant messages from aid workers in half-hour increments. But because it’s only intended as a temporary stopgap, user options are austere: MySpace members cannot list hobbies and interests, upload MP3s, or link to favorite YouTube clips, making friendship compatibility and popularity nearly impossible to predetermine.

I, for one, cannot understand what is happening here.

Update: I have been told that Onion.com is a parody newspaper and that this is not true. Thank god, I was really afraid. 🙂

Leave a Reply

